‘Skyfall’ Star Ben Whishaw Confirmed His Sexuality and Marriage to Australian Composer

Ben Whishaw confirmed, he is gay

photo source: wallbox.ru

‘Skyfall’ actor Ben Whishaw has officially announced his sexuality through his representative over the weekend.

Last Friday, Whishaw’s spokeperson said in a statement, “Ben has never hidden his sexuality, but like many actors he prefers not to discuss his family or life outside of his work.”

“Due to speculation, I can confirm that Ben and Mark entered into a civil partnership in August 2012. They were proud to do so and are very happy,” the rep also added.

Ben Whishaw is married to his partner, Australian composer Mark Bradshaw for about a year now. The couple met while making the movie ‘Bright Star’ in 2009.

During his past interview with Out magazine in 2011, Whishaw expressed his opinions about same-sex relationships and sexuality. On views about gay men having role models, he said, “I really agree with that, and I feel in my heart that it’s important, but I don’t quite know yet the way to go about that. Maybe that’s the transitional thing I feel I’m in the middle of at the moment. It’s something I think about, but it’s important for me to do it at the time that’s right for me. And I’m not there yet.”

Ben Whishaw will take on the next James Bond movie as 'Q'

photo source: filmoa.com

He also added, “[A]s an actor you have total rights to privacy and mystery, whatever your sexuality, whatever you do. I don’t see why that has to be something you discuss openly because you do something in the public eye. I have no understanding of why we turn actors into celebrities. It’s difficult talking about it. That’s why I didn’t want to go there, but at the same time I know this is a gay magazine and that means there’s a conflict there.”

Last April, TimeOut also asked Whishaw why he is so quiet about his sexual preference and sexual identity. The actor explained that ‘he is a private person and doesn’t feel comfortable discussing topics with people he doesn’t know’.

Whishaw who’s played ‘Q’ in ‘Skyfall’ will take the same role for James Bond’s 24th movie with Oscar-winning director Sam Mendez and Daniel Craig on his 4th role as the British secret agent. Also starring Michael G. Wilson and Barbara Broccoli, the movie will come out in theatres on November 6, 2015.

Leave a Reply

