Peter Capaldi Steps in as 12th Doctor in “Doctor Who”

Peter Capaldi, Doctor Who

Source: david-tennant-news.com

August 4, Sunday – It was revealed to “Doctor Who” fans worldwide that Peter Capaldi is the 12th Doctor. He will take on the role left by Matt Smith, who was the 11th Doctor to play the titular role, in the hit show’s upcoming 8th season.

This news came out during a special titled, “Doctor Who Live: The Next Doctor”, which was aired on affiliate stations of BBC all over the world.

At 55 years old, Capaldi is of the same age as the science fiction series’ first doctor William Hartnell when he was cast for the role in 1963.

“Being asked to play the Doctor is an amazing privilege. Like the Doctor himself I find myself in a state of utter terror and delight. I can’t wait to get started,” Capaldi said of his new role.

Though Smith might be leaving the show, the 11th doctor’s fans will still be able to watch him come back as the Time Lord in the 50th anniversary airing of the program that will be broadcast on November 23rd. He will also be appearing during the yearly Christmas special later in the year.

In a pre-recorded message, Smith revealed how he welcomed the casting for the new Time Lord. He said, “I wish my successor all the best and say good luck and good on you for getting it, because I know he’s both a huge fan of the show and a really nice guy.”

“The casting made me ready excited and as a fan I think it’s a canny choice. If I had to pick someone, I’d pick him because I think he’s great. I’m excited because I know what’s coming and he’s going to have a blast,” the outgoing Doctor added.

David Capaldi may be known as the 12th doctor, but he is actually the 13th actor to take on the “Doctor Who” role. This, as actor John Hurt was presented as an unnumbered “Doctor” in an episode that was seen earlier this year.

Leave a Reply

